CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – CHRISTMAS BUBBLE LIGHTS – NOMA – 1950s   1 comment

CHRISTMAS BUBBLE LIGHTS - NOMA - 1950s

One response to “CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – CHRISTMAS BUBBLE LIGHTS – NOMA – 1950s

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow!
    I was reminiscing with a few folk about the Christmases of our youth. Since my family didn’t use them I knew a family who did, so couldn’t remember the actual name of the lights/bulbs. I had been calling them ‘water lights,’ since when activated it looked like water moving up and down in the bulb. Intriguing & can grab a youngster’s awe-drenched stare for quite a while.
    I loved these lights as a kid in 1950s South Philadelphia. We didn’t have them at our house but on the tree of a friend his family installed them every year.
    Whenever I went over I would just stare at the movement with these bubble lights. Wonderful.
    I made the silly kid mistake of placing my finger on it once (it only took the one time). Those bulbs got very hot, as all those 1950s holiday lights did.
    It’s no wonder there weren’t more home accidents and fires in those days with the dangerous electrical decorations affixed to trees seldom watered after decorating, the use of candles all over the place. Oy.
    Thank you for the memories. Another Christmas memory question resolved.

Leave a Reply

