JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO – WINDSOR PARK LUTHERAN CHURCH – 2619 E 76TH – INTERIOR – c1960   6 comments

Posted February 3, 2010 by JOHN CHUCKMAN in Uncategorized

6 responses to “JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO – WINDSOR PARK LUTHERAN CHURCH – 2619 E 76TH – INTERIOR – c1960

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was baptized, made my confirmation, brownies and girl scouts, in the choir (Pastor Wilkening) and my brother got married here. I lived at 2600 E. 76th St. Just kiddy corner from the church.

    Donna Mattson Allman
    • This was, I believe, the church you could see from the I.C.

      There was a large empty lot near it extending to Saginaw along 76th (Oh, empty lots in the city, they were special places then, full of adventures, and I rarely see them anymore, at least where I live).

      That was a lot where Johnny and I played sometimes because it was large. We used to make bows and arrows from shrubs in the neighborhood, having various locations for the right wood for bow and arrow. I recall we always used a chunk of Tree of Heaven stem, which has a spongy interior to stick on the shaft, as a weight to tip the arrows. They would go surprisingly far, and we had contests in that lot to see whose went farther.

      John Chuckman

  2. We lived at 7549 Saginaw, next to the empty lot..(which is still empty in 2011) The lot was primarily used for Sunday services parking.
    I recall that the first floor living room had 2 stained glass transoms that faced the lot, and 1 was smashed from ball playing…
    I wanted to take them with when Mom moved to Glenwood.. maybe they are still there?
    Also was Hotel on S.E. corner, where Bob Esper mom was manager.
    I visit once per year and alot HAS NOT changed..

  3. I was confirmed at this church, was in the youth choir, and attended girl scouts in the basement. I went to Myra Bradwell School, and on Wednesday afternoons about 4 of us were dismissed from school, and walked from Bradwell to confirmation classes by ourselves. That was in 1965, and would not be allowed today. Pastor Wilkening was pastor at the time of my confirmation.

  4. Lived at 2618 E 76th. Spent a lot of time at this church. Pastor Wilkening was a good friend, who died several years ago. Actually went to St. Paul’s school over on Dorchester, which is still a school today.

  5. I was googling for information about my Dad, Rev. Richard Wilkening, and it was great to come across this old picture of Windsor Park. Also, heartwarming to read that several people remember my Dad! He certainly touched a lot of lives. Thanks for posting this.

    Jean Wilkening Kieda

Leave a Reply

