JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO – PHOTO – CHICAGO – STONY ISLAND AVE – STONY THEATER IN DISTANCE ON RIGHT – 1950s   3 comments

Posted April 25, 2012 by JOHN CHUCKMAN in Uncategorized

3 responses to “JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO – PHOTO – CHICAGO – STONY ISLAND AVE – STONY THEATER IN DISTANCE ON RIGHT – 1950s

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW.. I don’t remember it being so depressing… is it looking north from 73rd?… no I.C. tracks?
    Ron Hameetman

    • Hi Ron,

      I don’t know the circumstances of this picture.

      Perhaps the deteriorated condition, especially the median area, had something to do with building the Skyway?

      John Chuckman

  2. Stony Island narrowed right around 70th st, if I recall correctly, so this is taken from somewhere a little bit north of the IC tracks. Not visible here, at 68th and Stony there was Gross Electric, where my dad bought me my first Erector set in 1946, when we were living in Hyde Park. In the late 50’s living with my folks at 72nd and Constance, I bicycled down this stretch of Stony Island on into Hyde Park for classes at the U of Chicago. Did it right through the winters, which now I find amazing, if not completely deranged.

Leave a Reply

