JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO: MATCHBOOK – CHICAGO – GASSEL DRUG COMPANY – 2801 E 79TH – WINES AND LIQUORS – SE CORNER 79TH AND BURNHAM – SECTION OF BURNHAM E OF BRADWELL STREET AND S OF 79TH   3 comments

MATCHBOOK - CHICAGO - GASSEL DRUG COMPANY - 2801 E 79TH - WINES AND LIQUORS - SE CORNER 79TH AND BURNHAM - SECTION OF BURNHAM E OF BRADWELL STREET AND S OF 79TH

Posted August 16, 2013 by JOHN CHUCKMAN in Uncategorized

3 responses to “JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO: MATCHBOOK – CHICAGO – GASSEL DRUG COMPANY – 2801 E 79TH – WINES AND LIQUORS – SE CORNER 79TH AND BURNHAM – SECTION OF BURNHAM E OF BRADWELL STREET AND S OF 79TH

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love getting these. The first four-and-a-half years of my life, from 1944 to 1949, were spent living with my Mom and maternal grandparents at 2552 E. 76th Street while Dad was in the Army Air Corps in WWII and, later, until he could afford to buy our first house in Roseland.

    Mom and I would walk to Rainbow Beach every day in the summertime, take in movies at the Shore Theatre, get terrific baked goods from Guthries Bakery and sometimes my Grandpa Harry would buy me a chocolate ice cream cone at the drug store on the corner of 75th and Colfax.

    The IC was also a short walk for trips to the Loop, especially at Christmas, to see the store windows, Field’s great toy department and the big tree in the Walnut Room. Mom had gone to Myra Bradwell grammar school when she was a girl and then Hirsch High School, where she met my Dad, who grew up in Englewood.

    Have you ever come across anything from the old Caravel Club? It’s gone now, but it was at 7515 S. Yates and my folks had their wedding reception there after being married on January 23, 1943.

    Thanks so much for your time and effort in sending all of this South Shore memorabilia. It is very much appreciated!

    Warm regards –

    Dr. Gary Axelson

    • And thank you for the kind note.

      Regarding the Caravel Club, I have nothing now, but who knows in future?

      If you have any suitable old snaps – especially including places like the Shore or other businesses on 75th – I’d love to put them up.

      Just send a jpeg.

      John Chuckman

  2. I’ll have to dig and see if I can find any. Anytime I think of the Shore Theatre I think about my maternal grandmother, who must have been a saint. As you probably recall, there was no school on Lincoln’s birthday or on Washington’s birthday – and, back in the 50’s, the Shore would put on a show of 25 cartoons for each of those holidays. My grandmother – and I only really appreciate the full sacrifice now in my own older years – took me to both of those showings each year and endured the noisy cartoons and noisier kids! God bless Grandma Lisa!

Leave a Reply

