JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO: POSTCARD – CHICAGO – BRADWELL SCHOOL – SOUTH SHORE CALLED WINDSOR PARK – NICE VERSION – 1914   2 comments

POSTCARD - CHICAGO - BRADWELL SCHOOL - SOUTH SHORE CALLED WINDSOR PARK - 1914

Posted August 16, 2013 by JOHN CHUCKMAN in Uncategorized

2 responses to “JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO: POSTCARD – CHICAGO – BRADWELL SCHOOL – SOUTH SHORE CALLED WINDSOR PARK – NICE VERSION – 1914

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My sister, seven years older than I attended her first year of high school in the building to the right. When I played in the doll house for kindergarteners it was 1961. The upper floor was where the gym was. I was the only girl in my class to climb the thick twine and reach the “ceiling”. How I loved the pressed white button blouse, the navy blue shorts, white ankles and polishing my PF Flyers for gym! Boys would come to my front door to race me. I held the number one position until I moved. What’s unfortunate is: Until I moved back recently I didn’t know the whole story behind why the school was called Myra Bradwell, and her struggle for equality. Female role models were not a fad for youngsters when I walked these halls.

    • Linda,

      Myra Bradwell was famous for two reasons.

      One, she was the first woman lawyer in Illinois.

      Two, she worked on behalf of Mrs Abraham Lincoln who was institutionalized by her son after the President’s death. She is said to have suffered from a form of mental illness.

      John Chuckman

Leave a Reply

