JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – HYDE PARK CHICAGO: POSTCARD – CHICAGO – GEORGE F HARDING MUSEUM – 4853 LAKE PARK – TWO KNIGHTS MOUNTED – BACK – HOW I LOVED THIS PLACE AS A BOY – 1946   1 comment

postcard-chicago-george-f-harding-museum-4853-lake-park-two-mounted-knights-card-back-1946

Posted September 2, 2015 by JOHN CHUCKMAN in Uncategorized

One response to “JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – HYDE PARK CHICAGO: POSTCARD – CHICAGO – GEORGE F HARDING MUSEUM – 4853 LAKE PARK – TWO KNIGHTS MOUNTED – BACK – HOW I LOVED THIS PLACE AS A BOY – 1946

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I visited the Harding Museum of Armor many times. I grew up at 68 and Clyde and moved to Beverly Hills when I was in fourth grade about 1949 when a gangster bought our six flat in South Shore. I wrote a “book” Theodoric the Bold based on research at the Harding. I wish I still had it. A cross between Robin Hood and Prince Valiant. I know the Harding collection moved to the Art Institute (I took lessons there as a boy and did a great painting of one of the lions-also discarded). The museum I cannot track down was on the second floor of a building on the south side of a street between the El and Michigan. It was a big room full of Civil War memorabilia. I developed a real love of Civil War history there. My dad was killed In WWII and at age two my mother moved to South Shore to keep house for my granddad. This is a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

