JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO: PHOTO – CHICAGO – HAMILTON THEATER – 2150 E. 71ST STREET – 1929   2 comments

PHOTO - CHICAGO - HAMILTON THEATER - 71ST STREET - 1929

Posted August 4, 2016 by JOHN CHUCKMAN in Uncategorized

2 responses to “JOHN CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE CHICAGO: PHOTO – CHICAGO – HAMILTON THEATER – 2150 E. 71ST STREET – 1929

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My bedroom window was opposite the rear doors of the Hamilton Theatre across the narrow alley. The ushers would leave the doors open once in a while and I could watch the movies with my window open at night. It was an art movie house in the 1950s, I remember seeing Anna Mangnani, The Rose Tattoo, The Red Shoes. The projectionist would lean out his upper window when I played in the alley and discuss movies with me. I remember when they installed refrigeration, they put up big banners out front and it was frigid inside!

    Phyllis Grady Herbig
  2. The bookstore next door was where I first became hooked on reading. I see the word Book but can’t remember what came next.

    Marianne Handler

Leave a Reply

