CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE – PHOTO – CHICAGO – 71ST STREET – AERIAL – I.C. TRAIN – I RECOGNIZE NONE OF THE BUILDINGS HERE BUT I DID NOT OFTEN GO TO 71ST – 1950s – SEE READER COMMENTS   7 comments

PHOTO - CHICAGO - 71ST - AERIAL - 1950s

Posted April 14, 2014 by JOHN CHUCKMAN in Uncategorized

7 responses to “CHUCKMAN’S PLACES – SOUTH SHORE – PHOTO – CHICAGO – 71ST STREET – AERIAL – I.C. TRAIN – I RECOGNIZE NONE OF THE BUILDINGS HERE BUT I DID NOT OFTEN GO TO 71ST – 1950s – SEE READER COMMENTS

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi John, I believe that is the corner of 71st and Jeffrey Blvd, looking east/northeast. It looks like Walgreens on the NE corner. I lived three blocks east of that corner on Merrill Ave near 71st St and went to than Walgreens for many years. This is one of the photos you’ve sent that is closest to where I was born. Very nostalgic. Harry

  2. i recognize the walgreens chucker. shop there often.

    Date: Mon, 16 Jun 2014 17:15:02 +0000 To: theartworkofone@hotmail.com

  3. This was home territory for me. Dad commuted downtown from the Bryn Mawr station which is the centerpiece of your picture; note the old style crossing gates and the small crossing gate tenders’ houses mounted on the poles in the middle of the right of way. One every two blocks; you can just see the next one at Clyde Avenue. The old style “shepherd’s crook” street lights are still on Jeffery in this picture as well. The F. W. Woolworth store next to the Walgreen’s wrapped around Walgreen’s and had a secondary access on Jeffery Boulevard. The gate tender is wasting no time–the gates are almost up and the last car of the train has yet to clear the intersection! A group of people stand in the middle of the street waiting to cross, probably to a waiting Chicago Motor Coach bus out of the picture to the right which will take them further out along Jeffery to the brand new neighborhoods south of 79th. Brand new circa 1953, in any event. Wonderful picture. Thanks for posting it.

    • Hi John,

      I’m sure you are right. The odd thing for me is that the picture’s perspective hides all the things I knew on 71st.

      It looks as though it was taken from the commercial building that had the Peter Pan restaurant on the corner. When I walked on 71st, it was always on the south side of the street. The YMCA was on the south side. So was the Pow Wow store for scout equipment. Johnson’s tea Room. Rose’s Records. Peter Pan.

      Of course, the Jeffery Theater is missing from the frame. And the corner bank.

      John Chuckman

      • I am sure the picture was taken, as you say, from the building located at the southwest corner of 71st and Jeffery. We lived in two locations on Clyde: just south of 71st and later near 70th and Clyde. I knew both sides of 71st between Clyde and Jeffery like the back of my hand. My parents and I often ate out; both my parents worked and Mom had little desire to cook after working, so Johnson’s was a frequent destination. We also sometimes went to a soda shop called Krises’ (sp?) a few doors south of the Peter Pan. There was also a rather awful cafeteria in the high rise apartment building just north of 71st on the west side of Jeffery. Mrs. Snyder had a candy shop at Chappel. A much fancier one was Donald Meth Confiseur between Clyde and Merrill. One of the chocolate dippers (all his chocolates were hand dipped) was a neighbor. Tiny Tots toys was on the north side of 71st near Clyde, and Saper’s Men’s Store was right at Clyde. Thank you for recording so much that I treasure from long ago.

      • Yes, but you can see the large vertical Bowling Alley sign on the upper right side of picture-spent many days there bowling and shooting pool on the upper floor.

        Great website Chuck, one of my favorites of the entire web.
        Sincerely

        Rich Jacobson, formerly of O’Keeffe and HP HS.

        richard Jacobson
  4. My old neighborhood. I lived further west on 70th and Cornell, but we came down this way a lot. There was a Fanny May candy store across from the Walgreen’s and next to the Jeffery Theater, a Chinese restaurant on the opposite side of the Jeffery, a bakery (Burney Bros.?) next to or close to the bowling alley. Mitchell’s was down the street on the same side as the Walgreens store, and there was a clothing store for boys near Mitchell’s. Further down on the same side as Walgreens and Mitchell’s off of South Shore Drive and across from the country club was our family doctor, David S. Jaffrey, and there was a drug store under his office (Steinway’s?) in the same building. Further west and closer to Cornell on the same side where the Peter Pan restaurant was, we had a Jewel food store, the YMCA where I had my first swimming lessons, and a Toddle House grill. On the corner of 71st and Cornell was a Cadillac dealership that burned down. Funny how after 60 years I still remember. I still miss South Shore.

    Thanks, we all do, “still miss South Shore.” It was a special time and place in which to grow up.
    John Chuckman

Leave a comment